Summer Special – FleaMarket Funk Podcast#9

Summer Special

Well, since yesterday was the official first day of Summer, and today is my birthday, I got inspired on a Thursday night to put together a few tracks to celebrate both. Of course there is something for everyone here, but again I’m being a bit selfish and I chose some sides that I was feeling at that particular moment. I had to hit you off with another Cymnande tune, and I did mention the track briefly last post (which I probably will review in future episodes). Ramsey Lewis has so many good records, from straight forward Jazz to Funky Soul, his cover was a must for the start of Summer. I still am on the search for the Main Ingredient version. I have Funky 16 Corners to thank for this next Young-Holt Unlimited tune, because I almost missed it while we were digging. Jack McDuff (the Brother) is a genius, and I had to put this because it reminds me of just sitting in the back yard having a BBQ. Seriously, what’s a BBQ without a hot dog? Herbie Mann flips this Rufus Thomas cover nicely. The next selection from the Serpico Soundtrack has got summertime written all over it. The good Mr. Richard “Groove” Holmes is up next, serving up a message of Soul and Hammond organ. You might recognize the break in the Ballin’ Jack tune, as ghostwriter and 80’s pop rap superstar Marvin Young aka Young MC used it on his biggest hit. (remember Flea from the RHCP in the video, or were you too focused on the girl?) Roy Ayers Ubiquity continues on with one of my absolutely favorite (and Part 2 as well) songs. Finishing off I chose one of the greats of Latin Jazz, Funk and Soul, Mongo Santamaria. What’s a Summertime mix with out some Latin music? Mongo never disappoints, and I’m hoping he doesn’t for you.

So without any more delay here is the:

Summer Special – FMF Podcast #9

Cymande – Genevieve/ Janus
Ramsey Lewis – Summer Breeze/ Columbia
Jack McDuff – To Be Named Later/ Chess
Young-Holt Unlimited – Yes We Can Can/ Atlantic
Herbie Mann – Philly Dog/ Altantic
Mikis Theodorakis(Serpico Soundtrack) – On the Streets/ Paramount
Groove Holmes – Soul Message/ Prestige
Ballin’ Jack – Found a Child
Roy Ayers Ubiquity – Life is Just a Moment Part 1
Mongo Santamaria – Coconut Milk/ Columbia

Listen to Summer Special – FMF Podcast #9

**If you’re in Brooklyn, NY tonight, I will be spinning some tasty treats of Funk, Soul, and Rare Grooves at the The Lucky Cat. Keep Diggin’!

5 responses to “Summer Special – FleaMarket Funk Podcast#9

  1. Love the jazzfunk stuff. Any chance of you making a zip files of these sides unmixed, ala Funky 16 Corners mixes? Makes for easier collecting for those of us loading up our iPod on shuffle.

  2. Pingback: It’s hot, you’re cool… « Fufu Stew·

Leave a comment